Hello everyone! Well we’ve had about four inches of snow in the last 24 hours or so and they say it won’t be letting up until early next week. Kaia is concerned about the Easter Rabbit because she heard he doesn’t like to play in the snow…I guess we’ll have to move our egg hunt indoors and oh, what of the pretty dresses with no sleeves?! Ugh, sweater weather.

Anyway, I heard a really interesting piece with Mary Chapin Carpenter on NPR today, I guess she has a new album out and its been labeled as a little controversial as she wrote a song kind of in support of the Dixie Chicks, you all rememberthat fiasco. But yeah it was interesting. Here is one of the songs from that new album, its about Hurricane Katrina hitting New Orleans:

Mama’s got her babies/sleeping in a grocery cart/daddy’s eyes are hazy/wondering where they are/waiting for the buses/waiting on some Providence/once we get to Houston/maybe it will all make sense/

Praying to the Father/and calling for the calvary/look at all this water/and somehow not a drop to drink/now did you ever hear of nightmares/coming in the light of day/once we get to Houston/maybe they’ll just wash away/

Roll on Missippi, goodbye Crescent City/Les bon temps New Orleans/never coming back to stay

Never been to Texas/hope this bus is on a tear/never seen the president/maybe he will meet us there/never knew a promise/that didn’t break right in two/once we get to Houston/maybe one will come true

Roll on Missippi, goodbye Crescent City/Les bon temps New Orleans/never coming back to you

Last night I dreamed of rain/but golden light was all I saw/I heard my old dog barking/I went to see the Mardi Gras/I stood up on the banks/and looked out over Ponchartrain/I woke up here in Houston/didn’t even know my name

Roll on Missippi, goodbye Crescent City/Les bon temps New Orleans/never coming back again

“Houston” by Mary Chapin Carpenter from her new album, The Calling

One thought on “

  1. What a sad, sad song. Some of the people I saw in the Red Cross Shelter in  Austin would be pretty aptly described by this song. What I saw/went through in Florida during the hurricanes doesn’t compare to what happened in New Orleans, but hard blowing wind still makes me feel anxious.

Leave a Reply

