Rainbow Bridge
Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.
All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.
You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.
Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….
Author unknown…

Sambuca Negro 1999-2005

Desiderata

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.

As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others, even to the dull and ignorant; they too have their story…

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.

Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.
You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars…And wether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore, be at peace with God, what you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace with your spirit.

With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

–Max Erhmann

8 thoughts on “

  1. Aaah, Leeshie, I am so sorry about Sambuca. I am glad that she died being herself–wild and free–and that she didn’t suffer and that Casey took good care of you. xoxoxoxo love, mom 

  2. Forgive me for not really remembering.  Was Sambuca your cat?  Im so sorry.  I hope you are doing ok.Kelly

  3. Aww I’m sorry about Sambuca.
    I’ve actually read the Rainbow Bridge before. I think it was in the newspaper sometime in high school and I clipped it and still have it. I think it’s so beautiful. I hope you’re doing well.
    Theresa

  4. Two of my favorite pieces. I first heard Rainbow Bridge years ago when I found a forum of cat lovers that helped me through the death of a cat. I first heard Desiderata in the Haight-Ashbury high on LSD 40 years ago.

  5. I’ve had many pets cross the Rainbow Bridge, but it’s always sad.  My sympathies–I’m sorry to hear about Sambuca.  Desiderata was printed in my high school yearbook in 1978.  Haven’t thought about that one in years!

  6. Aww sweetie. My pets are like my family members, sometimes liked even more so, so I know how much it hurts. All sympathies to you.
    <33

Leave a Reply

