SUMMER READING SUGGESTIONS


For any of you thinking about what to read this summer I’ve put together a list of suggestions, listed by genre. Remember your sunblock, and happy reading!


Comedy/True Life


** Anything by Louise Renison will tickle your funny bone. The life of tween Georgia Nicholson with books titled as follows:


“Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging”


“Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas”


“On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God”


** The Bridget Jones books, both of them, by Helen Fielding.


** Anything by Fannie Flagg, I’ve read Welcome to the World, Baby Girl and Standing in the Rainbow.


** The Jasper Fforde books with his heroine, Thursday Next. These books are delightful, you just have to go with it and not think too hard. Ms. Next is a Literary Detective who lives in the real world but is able to book jump, yes, she reads herself into books. Really great reads: Lost in a Good Book, The Eyre Affair and Something Rotten are all excellent. 


Drama/True Literature:


** Anything by Margaret Atwood, particularly The Handmaid’s Tale (think Orwell’s 1984 from a woman’s perspective) or The Blind Assasin.


** Anything by A. Manette Ansay, especially Vinegar Hill, the story of a woman and her family, told from her daughter’s perspective about the breakup of a marriage and how much grief a soul can bear. And Limbo, Manette Ansay’s memoir.


** You all really should, if you haven’t already, pick up Bag of Bones by Stephen King. Trust me! Just read it and you’ll be so glad you did!


** Little Altars Everywhere, the segue to Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood, the movie and second book really play down the reality and severity of her characters, especially Vivi. This is  by Rebecca Wells.


** All Quiet on the Western Front, by Erich Maria Remarque, if you’re looking for something serious, or The Winds of War by Herman Wouk, which was captivating and not so sad as Remarque.


** Life of Pi was also excellent, the story of a boy and a tiger adrift after a shipwreck. By Yann Martel


Crime/Mysteries


** Anything by Sara Paretsky. She features the same female PI in most of her books and you’ll find that they just won’t let you go. Try Bitter Medicine or Blacklist.


** Patricia Cornwell lost a little of her luster with me when she did her whole Jack the Ripper thing. But her herione, Kay Scarpetta, is present in most all of her books and is the reason I’ve read them all. Try All That Remains or Unnatural Exposure.


** Anything by Agatha Christie (big DUH!), try At Bertrams Hotel, The Moving Finger and Sleeping Murder. These are all featuring Miss Jane Marple, but I like her better than Poirot.


 


So thats it for my ideas today…I didn’t include anything in the Romance category because I don’t read that rubbish (sorry to offend anyone). hope you all are doing fine. Today its rainy and cold, I’m imagining that I live in the English country side…just because I’ve gone off the deep end long ago.

2 thoughts on “

  1. WOW you do read alot…GO YOU!!! I wish I had the time…I know i need to make time, but im either scrapbooking or x-stitching….when im not doing those Im at the barn …..maybe one of these days, I have a ton of things Id like to read.  Well time for bed..have a great today!!!
    ~Carolyn

  2. I need to write all those down and take myself-ness to the library with the list. I generally really like your taste in books. I have to generally because I read “All Quiet on the Western Front” in high school and couldn’t stand the reality and sadness of it. When I read I want to escape reality!

Leave a Reply

