Apparently xanga is still having some kind of error so, I know you’ll be sad, I can’t show you the cover of the Paretsky book I started last night. Here’s a tissue, don’t cry now.


Speaking of cry, I was in tears yesterday, tears of frustration! I called MCI about six weeks ago to set up local phone service. I did this for two reasons: the first is that our little cell phone only gives us 200 daytime minutes but 1000 night (after 9pm) and weekend minutes. Which is dumb for $35 a month. Secondly, I chose MCI because even though a lot of companies say they will give you local service is really depends on where you are. And I had three choices, the first two being unacceptable left MCI. So I call and get it all done and they tell me it will be as long as 30 DAYS before my phone is working. I give them a few more days after the 30 and still no phone. So I called last Friday and am told that apparently I have to pay a deposit before they will turn my phone on. So I pay the deposit over the phone and am advised that in about TWO WEEKS I will have a phone, and that I have to call back to verify that my payment went through.


So I called back yesterday to verify my payment (which, thanks to online banking, I know it went through) and I am told there is a slight problem. Apparently they gave the number they gave to me to someone else too. So now I can’t have that number and I have to start all over again. The whole thing, name, address, etc, etc, phone plan, etc. Talk about irritating. Well I really freaked out when they told me that because this is technically a new order I have to wait, you guessed it, another 30 DAYS. I was so mad. I am pleading with this lady who admits that this is not my fault, but it is unfortunately, my problem. After going through the whole thing she tries to sell me upgrades! Then she tells me that since I have already paid my deposit I have to call the “local deposit office” at such and such number on Thursday and make sure they transfer my deposit to them so they can turn my phone on. What a pain in the ass! So I emailed a big mean email to their customer service and got a reply today telling me the 30 days can’t be fixed, they doubt it will actually take that long and they are not making me pay the $42 hook up fee. Grr.


Anyway, we went to bed early and missed the Amazing Race but were happy to see we didn’t miss a lot because it was a non-elimination leg. I gotta jet now, Kaia needs a nap. Hope you have a great day!!

6 thoughts on “

  1. Phone companies make me insane.  We have been the victims of identity theft twice because of phone companies.  We will never have another home phone again.  I hope you have a better day today!  New LOST episode!  Woohooo!

  2. Oh man, I would be ripping someone’s head off ,girl. I have never heard of a thirty day thing like that before. Yuck!

  3. It is the nature of the world of telephones…..and what we have to do to be connected to the world. They make me crazy too. The good news is that once your hooked up, things will be smoother. 🙂

  4. Is paying a local phone bill really cheaper than putting more minutes on your cell phone? If you have sprint you can talk to me and dad and mom for free. I know that I don’t have a local phone in my apartment because having a cell phone is cheaper. I pay like $80 bucks a month, but I use it all the time. Just my two cents.

  5. Oh I so empathize. I’ve had MCI for long distance for years. I would try to change my phone bill system if it wasn’t for this kind of frustration. Since it’s not my largest monthly bill I’m picking my battles.

  6. Oh I so empathize. I’ve had MCI for long distance for years. I would try to change my phone bill system if it wasn’t for this kind of frustration. Since it’s not my largest monthly bill I’m picking my battles.

Leave a Reply

