“If you want to see a man afraid just put him in a room with a sick woman who was once strong. See, I know now that this world is built up on strong women, built up and kept up by them too, them kneeling, stooping, pulling, bending, and rising up when they need to go and do what needs to get done. And when a man sees a woman like that sick and hurt, especially the kind of man who knows a woman’s strength but can’t confess it, when he sees her sick or hurt it terrifies him, like he’s witnessing a chunk of the universe coming loose and he knows he doesn’t have what it takes to stick it back together. And that man will feel guilty and foolish then too because he never made himself say what he always knew.” p.13


 


“And I did want somebody to take care of me. I needed it. And when I felt all that goodness coming from Jack, it didn’t matter what the person looked like that sent it out to me. Maybe I did want a daddy, but that’s okay, too. I never heard any bells ringing and so forth, but look what happened to me when I did! The quiet kind of love is better than the other, lasted longer, been better to us. Oh, it’s no crime to want and need somebody to love and to be loved by and to go and do what you need to do to have that, but it’s certainly a pity when you want it so badly you’ll let it be anybody.”  p.143


 


“He stopped in the yard and looked at the woods across the field. He didn’t want to think about her anymore, her leaving, her not coming back, especially her leaving. You laying there in the pink dress June bought, my insides they yelled out, No! God, you were a beautiful woman to me. I’d told June to take the money and go to the best place there was and buy the best thing they had, something in the color I’d married you in. I couldn’t let you go in the wedding dress. I needed that here to look at it…And when we put you in the ground, I told my mama to accept you next to her, you were a good woman, never meant anybody any harm, neither one, just ways different, that’s all, and Burr told me my mama and daddy and this earth would accept you because your grace was something no one could turn away, and I cried then, Ruby, I cried all the way home…”  p. 153


 


From “A Virtuous Woman” by Kaye Gibbons

6 thoughts on “

  1. Aye, babycakes, that was a good book. Beautiful prose. I’m nearly done with “welcome home, baby girl” by fanny flagg. I’ll send it to you when I’m done and then you can share it with your sister if you think she’ll like it.
    I like the picture of our little Kai-bird….sniff…granny misses her and misses her mommy…

  2. challenging people is like figuring out which ones are the scary christian coalition types and which ones are true, faithful christians. i do not offend the true christians, its the hypocrites i am out for…
    …as for myself. i am a peaceful person. i love people, regardless of their beliefs. however, i cannot live with people who are intolerant or express hatred of their fellow men. these are the people that need to be stopped. it is my every intention to do so.

  3. “Anger is a Tool.” -Che Guevara.
    Anger is not Hatred, and does not mean you are not living in Peace–or striving for it, as a means to an end. Jesus often displayed pure anger without hatred or violence, i.e. The Moneychangers.

  4. Hey, I read that book, and liked it a lot. RE your comment–it is funny how we talk about some of our xanga “friends” like we know them–like you mentioned about the Illinois bball team–and I once told someone about your WIC experience that you had posted. Have a nice day, we are getting the beginnings of some heavy weather here.

Leave a Reply

