Sorry I haven’t been around…some times I’m too busy and sometimes I just don’t feel like it. We had a perfectly boring weekend, but we did get a microwave (thanks Dad!) that I have used about two thousand times since Sunday afternoon. I was so bummed on Sunday night when Desperate Housewives was a re run. I’ve read three books over the weekend, all by Kaye Gibbons, “Ellen Foster” was the first, about a little girl in the “system” and how strong she is..just about her life, very good. “A Virtuous Woman” was one the best books I have ever read…about what you would think to be an ill-matched couple who’ve been married 25 years when she gets cancer. Its told in alternating points of view, his after she has died, and hers as she is trying to prepare him (like leaving three months worth of frozen casseroles in the freezer) for when she dies. It had the story of both of them in between. Excellent book. “A Cure for Dreams” was ok, I read all three of them so fast but they were only about 200 pages each…Cure is about three generations of women, all of their stories, which was like I said, just ok…Now I am working on another Bombeck book.


I stitched a SIX INCH hem in a skirt for Carousel, I put it off and off and finally had to do it. It wasn’t too bad, I even was able to do the pleats so it would lay flat..now that skirt has been hemmed almost a foot as there was an existing five and half inch hem in it to begin with. I have another skirt that need a four inch hem put in and play practice tonight because I didn’t go yesterday as Casey’s been feeling crappy with a sore throat. I still want to be able to do another job so I can make more money, what I get paid is okay but I just hate wanting things and not being able to have them. I don’t even want that much…I want a new bed (I’ve seen them advertised for $275 for a new queen) and Dish Network…thats all. But I don’t have the money for either and am already short on my car payment and rent is due next week…Even a $100 a week would make a HUGE difference. So if anyone knows how one gets into medical transcribing or something please let me know…it seems like all I find online are scams! I’m a decent typist and could do something like that at quiet time or at home when I have saved enough for a computer….Anyone have info? Sure one of us SAHM’s does a job from home….


I think thats about all I have to say…not very interesting lately, am I?


 


Oh yes, I also wanted to note something that absolutely disgusts me. We all know that there are millions of people without healthcare, I heard on NPR the other day that some southern state, I can’t remember which, was actually discussing just shutting down their medicaid program because they can’t pay for it. I am not a champion of people getting aid and then keeping it forever. I am in favor of a hand UP. In Michigan right now our politics people are trying to change the minimum wage from $5.15/hour to $7.15 per hour. Would someone please tell me who they know that can raise a family on $7 an hour? And even if you were to get insurance with a $7/an hour job, that would cut your pay to like $5 an hour. Yet some states want to cut medicaid because they can’t fit it into their budgets. That means pregnant women who will not have health care. That means people who have serious medical problems who will not get treatment. The radio people  interviewed a guy in this southern state and he has been paralyzed from the neck down for many years. He had no family. The state pays for a nurse to come in and feed him, change his colostomy bag, tend to his bed sores, etc. Obviously he was distressed, how would he live without that service? He wouldn’t, thats the short answer. So onto what what really burns my butt….that W could leave his Texas ranch early to fly to Washington and sign a bill that was made for ONE person.  Who knew those people up on capitol hill could even move that fast? Why does the government get involved in the case of one person when there are people who are facing a serious illness and can’t get medical care? Why has one woman gotten so much attention when there are homeless children in this country? When there are people who are facing feeding their kids or paying their rent, and don’t tell me that is a minority of people because I know its not and I know I have been in situations like that. All W wants to talk about is his faith based initiative and his culture of life. I’m really sorry and I don’t mean to be offensive, but Terry Shiavo has not had much of a life for the last 15 years. Some people say she will recover, that she could get better, and the ignorance of that makes me want to cry, the blind hope. Why would she get better now, improve now, if she hasn’t in the last 15 years? Why now?( I also would like to note that Patricia Heaton of Everybody Loves Raymond was “speaking out” on Entertainment Tonight, saying Terry Schiavo’s husband of course wants her to die because he has other interests. You tell me who loses their wife, or most of her brain, 15 YEARS AGO that does not want to move in with their life. Hasn’t he already grieved for his wife, for the life they could have had? Why is he being painted as some horrible monster just because he wants to move on with his life? I still don’t understand why, if her parents can not let her go, the Schiavo’s don’t divorce?) If W wants to talk about a culture of life he should try and fix health care and worry less about privatized social security, and the plight of one woman, when there are literally millions of people who are sick and can’t go to the doctor. Why can’t he fly from Texas in the middle of the night to sign a bill that will increase the quality of life for all Americans? Why can’t he vow to help end homelessness instead of vowing that one woman in Florida will in fact continue to live. Why can’t he vow to fight hunger everywhere? It really (obviously) angers me that most politicians have their own agenda, and what is right and what is best for the United States as a nation are rarely placed high on that list of things to do. Instead we spend billions on dollars on a war, instead we want to spend billions more to privatize social security. Can you imagine how much the money that has been spent in Iraq could have helped people here? Am I the only one who wonders why we are rebuilding foreign cities when are own cities are falling apart because of crime and decay and poverty?! Are homeland and social security imporant issues? Certainly, but what about the people who live in the country you are trying to protect?  I could not live with myself leading a country full of sick people, full of poverty and hunger. I could not turn a blind eye, and I wonder how W does it.


 


Take my photo off the wall
If it just won’t sing for you
‘Cause all that’s left has gone away
And there’s nothing there for you to prove…


…Give me back my point of view
‘Cause I just can’t think for you…


…Oh, look what you’ve done
You’ve made a fool of everyone
Oh well, it seems likes such fun
Until you lose what you had won

4 thoughts on “

  1. Oh, you said what I have been thinking, only I was too mad to type it all out on my xanga–I took the lazy way out, lol. It is all so cynical and all about calculated face-time for these bloated, smug politicians. And I so agree–after 15 years, why do they cling to hope?? I feel her parents have been overly influenced by a weird, culty-life group. (jmho) My scientist husband looked at some stuff on line about her condition, and said that parts of her brain are basically like jelly now, not to mince words. Why are these poor people so blind???????

  2. Hi! I came to your site from here_at_home’s site. Everyone wants to paint Michael Schiavo as some kind of monster. I even saw some people blaming him for her heart attack. She was a bulimic who developed a very low potassium level that caused the heart attack. Obviously, its a tragedy, but there is no helping Terri Schiavo now which is why the courts have ruled in Michael’s favor. I’m sorry for her parents but wouldn’t it be kindest to let her die in peace?

Leave a Reply

