Well we had a nice boring weekend. On Friday we went to Blockbuster and rented, what else, the rest of season 3 Alias. We were bummed that “I Heart Huckabees” and “Ladder 49” were already gone. We went home and made dinner and Kaia went to bed early because she hadn’t napped all day. We watched some of Alias and went to bed. Kaia was up bright n’ early on Saturday. I was very grateful for my new coffee maker (thanks dad!) because it has a timer which I was able to set for 720am. So coffee was already made when I got up with Kaia. We watched TV and Casey got up. We went out to Bill’s to get our wall sconces from our bedroom because last time I was there I had to leave them as there was not a screwdriver to be found in the house. We also got some misc. odds and ends I hadn’t had room for in my car packed with yowling cats. We dropped off our lease and dropped off books at the library. Casey hit his head on the garage door frame and about knocked himself out. He now has a huge gouge on the top of his head and its all swollen and bruised. We watched more Alias and ordered in on Saturday night and I restrained myself from going round with the CSR guy who apparently does not know that garlic butter was originally introduced at Pizza Hut because of the stuffed crust pizza (which I ordered). The only reason I know this is because I remember when stuffed crust was invented and I used to work at Pizza Hut, so there! Anyway…On Sunday Kaia and I went to church, I walked a block on snowy roads in three inch heels carrying an 18 pound wiggling child and her darn kitty. I went home and decided to stay there. I went from church clothes to pajamas in all of about ten seconds. More Alias, warmed up pizza…..very blah.


Anyway, if you all have not read Erma Bombeck, you should, because even though I don’t know what “green stamps” are the issues she manages to make funny are the same for all women and this book was published in the seventies. Things have not changed so very much. I will leave you with a short excerpt. Hope everyone had a nice weekend!


“My husband’s idea of a fun vacation is sitting around watching a ranger pick his teeth with a match cover. My idea of “roughing it” is when you have to have an extension for your electric blanket. My husband is one of those idiots who leaves pieces of bacon out to attract bears to the campsite. I once trappeda gnat in my bra and went to bed with a sick headache for a week.


” ‘ Face it,’ I said, ‘ we are incompatible. I wan to go to New York and see some theater and shop and you want to go to Murk Lake and watch mosquitoes hatch their larva.’


” He stiffened. ‘ I am not going to New York and watch a bunch of lewdy nudies cavort around the stage.’


” ‘ And I am not going to Murk Lake and watch men shave out of double boilers.’


” ‘ I am not going to the city where I have to wear a necktie to bed,’ he continued…..


” ‘You don’t understand,’ I said to my husband. ‘ I don’t ask much in this world. All I want is a few weeks where I could sleep in a bed where the alarm clock is on the opposite side. I want to go to the bathroom, lock the door, and know that when I look through the keyhole I will not encounter another eye. I want the phone to ring and have it be for me. I want to walk in a room and see all the drawers closed. I want to drink a cup of coffee while it is still hot. Don’t you understand? I want to pick up my toothbrush and have it be dry!’ “

4 thoughts on “

  1. Erma Bombeck?  I am sure I have read something of hers awhile back and loved it.  Its been so long I cant even remember.  I will have to see if I still have the book in my collection.  Thanks for the congrats.  Very excited and still in shock.  LOL!

  2. One of my favorite writings of Erma Bombeck is the one in which she makes a list of all the things she would do differently in her life if she had it to do over.  It has such things as not waiting until the house is spotless before inviting a friend over.  It gives you a lot to think about. 

  3. When I was a kid, my mom collected green stamps. I remember her getting them at the grocery store and sometimes at a gas station. You would redeem them for all kinds of “stuff”. How many stamps you got was based on how much $$ you spent. Then, if there was something in particular you wanted from the green stamp catalog, you saved your stamps in a booklet (and hopefully according the the participating merchants) and shopped the stores where you could collect them till you had enough stamps saved to get what you wanted.

    I, too, remember reading an excerpt of what Erma Bombeck wrote as she was dying with cancer. The main gist of it being to LIVE. To not sweat the little stuff that passes. To use the good china regularly. To burn the beautiful candles. To invest more time in people than in making sure the house is spotless. She was a very funny lady.

Leave a Reply

