I borrowed this from the arwenaragorn.com site, one of my favorite parts in the Two Towers…. 


Back to Rivendell, Elrond and Arwen are speaking as it is time for Arwen to almost leave. Elrond: Arwen…it is time…the ships are leaving for Valinor. Go now – before it is too late.

Arwen: I have made my choice…

Elrond: He is not coming back…why do you linger here when there is no hope?

Arwen: There is still hope.

Elrond: If Aragorn survives this war, you will still be parted. If Sauron is defeated and Aragorn made king and all that you hope for comes true – you will still have to taste the bitterness of mortality…

As Elrond speaks, Arwen sees in a vision what her father speaks of. She is Aragorn’s queen and dressed in black. Aragorn had become a great kink but has died and now lies in some kind of cement tomb top(?) with a crown (he has white hair). People are around paying their last respects and she is crying. Elrond continues (a beautiful passage about Aragorn):
    Elrond: Whether by the sword or the slow decay of time…Aragorn will die and there will be no comfort for you….no comfort to ease the pain of his passing…he will come to death – an image of splendor of the kings of men in glory undimmed before the breaking of the world.
Now Arwen sees Aragorn as stone carving (monument?) and she stands before him with a lonh black dress and veil.
    Elrond: But you….my daughter….you will linger on in darkness and doubt as nightfall in winter that comes without a star. Here you will dwell….bound to your grief, under the fading trees, until all the world has changed and the longer years of your life are utterly spent.
Arwen then sees herself walking alone through the empty woods of Lothlorien.
    Elrond: Arwen….there is nothing for you here….only death….
Arwen then cries and Elrond sits next to her and holds a hand to her cheek and says:
    Elrond: Do I not also have your love?

    Arwen: You have my love, papa (ada?)… (she says crying and hugs her father – her parting from him – whether to mortality or to the undying lands is extremely painful for Elrond)

3 thoughts on “

  1. We own all three extended dvds, my daughter and I watch them often…I always tear up when Arwen has the vision of the son she might have with Aragorn. (among many tear-uppy scenes.) Oh, man, Aragorn…sigh…my daughter may beg to differ, lol–Orlando Bloom.

  2. I absolutely love this movie!!!!!  My husband had read the books, but I didn’t so I didn’t know how it was going to play out.  But I loved it!!!!  Thanks for helping me to re-live it!!  It seems more powerful seeing it in print. 

  3. I’m gonna be honest, i’m pissed off that they didn’t say anything in the movie about how Arwen is going to handle the problems that Elrond related in that scene. They introduced the conflict and then ignored it for the rest of the movie. Grrrr.

Leave a Reply

