Well. Being hundred-aires is so nice, it sure beats sitting around all weekend, just being bored and snarky with each other. On Friday night we did go grocery shopping. On Saturday we went to the library (YIPPEE!) and I borrowed, “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood, which I finished just a few minutes ago. I also borrowed “Old Love” which may or may not be trash, and the Best American Mystery Stories of 2004.Yeah, it was pretty good. We also drove up to a little town called Northport, just because we like it so much. Its one of those little towns that looks like a movie set, perfect little houses (and big houses), little stores, etc. On our way back we stopped at a place called Fischer’s and had lunch. We rented Office Space, then the last two Lord of the Rings movies. I made it almost all the way through the second movie then fell asleep just as Gandalf showed up (at first light, on the fifth day, look to the east). On Sunday Casey’s mom and dad drove up to see Kaia and we went to lupper at La Senorita, which is a sucky place to eat so don’t ask me why Casey wanted to go there. Sunday night we watched the Extreme Home Makeover re-run and went to sleep!


Now today is going by so fast, after quiet time we’re going to Meijer to get more formula and diapers and I need to print some pictures off my camera so I can finally delete some. Then we’ll pick Casey up at work and take him and Kaia home. AND THEN…….I get to attend a live American Idol-esque thing, auditions for Carousel are tonight and Kathy promised I could watch. LOL, she says some of the people who audition for these things are either delusional or deaf, which is mean, I know, but she and I have both been on the chopping block that is a live, cold audition, so we can cackle if we want to.


 Kaia is being a fussy pants. She woke me up at five and I ignored her so she went back to sleep, then she was wide awake at seven, took about a half hour nap at 11 and has not slept since. She’s a little tired and driving me nuts with the whining. Hopefully she’ll fall asleep in the car on our way to Meijer. Anyway, I hope you have a great day, thank you for all your great comments. I have to go pick her up now but I’ll (hopefully) be able to see how you all are later.


 


“I wish this story were different. I wish it were more civilized. I wish it showed me in a better light, if not happier, then at least more active, less hesitant, less distracted by trivia. I wish it had more shape. I wish it were about love, or about sudden realizations important in one’s life, or even about sunsets, birds, rainstorms, or snow.


“Maybe it is about those things, in a way; but in the meantime there is so  much else getting in the way, so much whispering, so much speculation about others, so much gossip that can not be verified, so many unsaid words, so much creeping about and secrecy….


“I’m sorry there is so much pain in this story. I’m sorry its in fragments, like a body caught in crossfire or pulled apart by force. But there is nothing I can do to change it.


“I’ve tried to put some good things in as well. Flowers, for instance, because where would we be without them?


“Nevertheless, it hurts me to tell it over, over again. Once was enough: wasn’t once enough for me at the time? But I keep going on with this sad and hungry and sordid, this limping and mutilated story, because after all I want you to hear it, as I will hear your’s too if I ever get the chance, if I meet you or if you escape, in the future or in heaven or in prison or underground, some other place. What they have in common is that they’re not here. By telling you anything at all I’m at least believing in you, I believe you’re there, I believe you into being. Because I’m telling you this story I will your existence. I tell, therefore, you are.


“So I will go on. So I will myself to go on. I am coming to a part you will not like at all, because in it I did not behave well, but I will try nonetheless to leave nothing out. After all you’ve been through, you deserve whatever I have left, which is not much but includes the truth”.


From “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood


 


PS: If you liked George Orwell’s 1984 you’ll like this book about ten times more.

Leave a Reply

